Need help in establishing communication b/w MR16 and Computer via RS232.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help in establishing communication b/w MR16 and Computer via RS232.

Jump to solution
vivek
Contributor II
Dear all,

Im a newbie :smileyindifferent: to hc908mr16 and Code warrior. My aim is to flash my code into MR16 using Code Warrior :smileysurprised:. I read the devlopment support sec given im MR16 datasheet Pg no. 279.  I used MAX 232N instead of MC145407 and GD74HC125 instead of MC74HC125.

I wired up a circuit as given there. After verifiying wether all necessary conditions as mentioned in the datasheet were being satisfied i opened a demo program for mr32 :smileysad:.

In true simulator i selected Monitor Target mode interface and tried to autodetedct the baud rate. It did not detect the minimal baud rate. It din't work out :smileymad:.

Then i tried P&E Debug - Class3 and 4. it dint even detect the hardware loopback :smileysurprised:.

I was taken around in loops :smileytongue:. Now i jus dont know how to carry on further.

Could anyone give me the circuit diagram for establishing communication b/w PC and MC68HC908MR32 via RS232 .

I welcome all kinds of views, suggestions, guidance. Sooner the better:womansad:.

Thanks and Regards

Vivek :manmad:
Labels (1)
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
vivek
Contributor II
Hi Peg,

I have finally flashed MR16 from my PC.

U were right i.e. The monitor mode circuit given in the datasheet (MR32 Rev 6.0)is for DB25 pin cable. So i made the necessary changes as u said.

Another important point is that the 10 mfd capacitor connected b/w pins 19 and 17 of MC145407 has to reversed i.e. +ve to pin 17 and -ve to pin 19(I found this in a couple of other serial communication circuits that i downloaded from the internet).

Then it finally worked!?!?!?!... 

Thanks Peg for all ur suggestions.

I am also a newbie to Programming...