Beginner: Delay in microsecond range / Serial Output over LPC-Link ?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Beginner: Delay in microsecond range / Serial Output over LPC-Link ?

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by naequs on Tue Oct 15 13:17:49 MST 2013
Hi Guys,

I'm fairly new to LPC's (well, uC's in general), starting out with the LPCXpresso 812 board.
For a start, i want to use a DS1820 temperature sensor and have the code all set up as outlined in MAXIM AN126.
But i need to write a function that produces a rather accurate delay in the microsecond range to properly time the samples/writes.
An interrupt based timer doenst seem like a good idea due to the clock rate.
Can anyone give me some tips on what would be an appropriate approach?

Also, a more general question about UART/Terminal: Is it possible to send serial data back through the LPC-Link so there is no need for an FTDI cable for terminal output ?

Thanks in advance !

edit: i'll try to use UART for the 1wire communication now. The second question remains unanswered though ;)
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
3 Replies

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by naequs on Sat Oct 26 05:52:45 MST 2013
markr: thank you! that could quite fit the bill for me.

starblue: yeah i've seen a similar example with UART, but i'm going to try markr's suggestion first.

0 Kudos

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by starblue on Thu Oct 24 01:38:08 MST 2013
I've seen SPI used for communicating with a 1-wire device (EEPROM),
with a small external circuit to combine MISO and MOSI.
I don't know whether that is feasible on the LPC800, though.
0 Kudos

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by markr on Wed Oct 23 14:07:34 MST 2013