Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SCTimer in LPC11U68

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by mattiad on Thu Dec 11 01:33:07 MST 2014
Dear All,

I would like to use my micro LPC11u68, 100 pins configuration, in order to  check the speed of a quadrature ecoder.
Essentially I need to count the rising and falling edges of two separate signals A & B, typical of the encoder.
One solution is to generate and interrupt every edge and increase a counter, but these implies that every XX us I have to occupy some resources to the micro.
The ideal solution is to have a register which increases stand alone once an event  (rising and falling edges) occours. This would be perfect for me because every 100ms I'd check the value of the register, whitout "stressing" the micro too much.
It seems that with SCTimer (chapter 18 of UM10732) it is possible but, since I'm an inexperienced beginner I don't understand exactly how to make it possible.

Has someone already tried this?

Do you have any suggestion?

Thank you in advance
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
8 Replies

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by The Dude on Wed Dec 17 08:37:21 MST 2014
Using a part like the LPC15xx is likely the best solution to your problem.
0 Kudos

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by LabRat on Sat Dec 13 19:23:15 MST 2014

Quote: mattiad
I would like to use my micro LPC11u68, 100 pins configuration, in order to  check the speed of a quadrature ecoder.
Do you have any suggestion?

Yes, use a LPC15xx with QEI  :)

0 Kudos

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by mattiad on Fri Dec 12 05:46:21 MST 2014
Hi R2D2,

sorry but I'm new with micro programming and I don't understand  your explaination.
Maybe do you have a portion of the code to take as an example.

Quote: