NEW to LPC, please help ! - LPC 1769 basics - any help appreciated !

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NEW to LPC, please help ! - LPC 1769 basics - any help appreciated !

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by Jantje7600 on Tue Oct 07 12:14:23 MST 2014
Hello everyone,

I have a LPC1769 microcontroller and I would like to use it for my DC-AC inverter (using PWM).

I am a newbie, I have figured out how the blinky program works and a little bit more :)

On the internet I could not found any useful tutorial or book (I have read the user manual), many people on the internet say look at the examples. Well I did that but for me it is still not clear and the manual isn't a tutorial.

Along the way I have marked my questions with a number.

Please correct me if I'm wrong:
If I want to select GPIO Port 2.0 I use the following code:

// Select P2.0 and use GPIO Port 2.0 function
  LPC_PINCON->PINSEL4 |= ( (0<<0) | (0<<1) );

1)  so LPC_PINCON is always used when a pin needs to be selected ?

//According to manual: FIODIR = Fast GPIO Port Direction control register. This register individually controls the direction of each port pin.
// Set pin P2.0 as output
        LPC_GPIO2->FIODIR = (1<<0);
2) Okay, so when do I use FIODIR? Only when I have to declare the pin as an input or output?

// Set pin P2.0 high
LPC_GPIO2->FIOPIN |= (1<<0);

3) I have seen the following & = ~    so LPC_GPIO2->FIOPIN &= ~(1<<0); does this mean "disable" ? When is this used?

Now the real part comes. I want to use PWM (in combination with a driver IC) to drive my MOSFETS. First I want to know how I can use the PWM functionality of the LPC1769 to drive only one MOSFET.

To set the frequency of the PWM signal I need to use the clock frequency of the microcontroller I believe...

4) So do I have to use PCLKSEL0 and PCLKSEL1 ? If yes, how can I set them (please show the code :p, I think it is one line) ?