cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

View ASM  variables in expressions window

Aili
Contributor II
Hi,

I am using CW 8.1 for 56F803 using USBTAP. I am new to CW. In the expressions window, I can view the variable defined in C. However, when I put the variables defined in asm to expressions window, it says "undefined identifier in expression". These variables are defined in asm file and "extern" keyword is used in C file. The program also gives correct result.  Is there a way to display the global variables that are defined in assemble code? Thanks.

Liping
Labels (1)
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
6 Replies

trytohelp
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Hi,

It seems to be a limitations.
I remember this problem has been reported some times ago.
I will check with the compiler team.
It seems the debug information are not generated for variables defined in assembly.
Keep you informed.

Pascal
0 Kudos

Aili
Contributor II
Hi,

Thank you for your reply. I am studying the code written by someone else. The original code has lots of variables defined in Assembly with fixed addresses. Is there a statement in C that can define variable with fixed address. I am not familiar with CodeWarrior for 56F800, but I know TI Code Composer Studio  can use "pragma DATA_SECTION(variable, "section name")" to define it.

Liping
0 Kudos

trytohelp
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Hi,

I received feedback from our development tool.
They need to investigate the problem.
I will log it in our bug tracking system.
If you want have information about the problem I recommend you to log it in our CRM.
See below details:
Please use Freescale on line support web page.
  - Go to following URL: http://www.freescale.com/TechSupport
  - Click on Submit a Service Request to create a new one or Manage Existing Service Request.
  - You will come to a login page.
  - You can submit your request through the web from there or view the activities of a SR.
Pascal 
0 Kudos

Aili
Contributor II
Hi,