cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I2C Primer

ronaldpatton
Contributor I

Hi,

(I am reposting this in a different area.  I am learning these forums).

Hi,

I am brand new to the Freescale product suite and Code Warrior.  I have inherited a project and the associated device which is a amateur radio device.  The device has several components, 1) MC9S08QG8CPBE, 2) A MCP3422 ADC and a KTM-s1201.  At any rate, the MCU communicates with the ADC via I2C.

If someone would be so kind as to point me in the right direction to Freescale I2c primer, I would be most appreciative.

The I2C source code included with the project is dated 8/2008.  This is pretty much a "down on the metal" type program.  Does Freescale have an I2C library I may link to?

//===================================================================
// MC9RS08KA8 IIC Subroutines  8/24/2008
// Written by John H. Fisher - K5JHF

#include "derivative.h"
#include "iic.h"

void i2c_send ( char send ) {

IICD  = send; // master transmit;

while (!IICS_IICIF);   // wait until IBIF;

IICS_IICIF = 1; // clear the interrupt event flag;

}

Thanks,

Ron / W4MMP

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
5 Replies

Alice_Yang
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hello Ron,

Which version of CW do you use ?  You can use the Processor Expert on CW , it provides I2C driver.

For example CW10.6,  when you create project , please select "Processor Expert"

pastedImage_0.png

then add the SW_I2C component

pastedImage_1.png

then you can refer to the "Typical Usage" to configure , there have the I2C demo :

pastedImage_2.png

Hope it helps

Have a great day,
Alice

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Note: If this post answers your question, please click the Correct Answer button. Thank you!
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

0 Kudos