MC9S08GB32 Examples

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MC9S08GB32 Examples

billp
Contributor I
Is there an example for MC9S08GB32 using the SPI transmitting and receiving characters?  I have tried the one for the MC9S08GB60 and can't get it to work.  Just wondering if there is something for the 32 that has been written and tested.

Bill
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
7 Replies

billp
Contributor I

I was asked these questions..

1. Is the Slave Enabled?
2. Both SPI ports are configured for the same Clock Type (rising edge, falling edge, etc?
3. MOSI connected to MISO?

1) I have a master and slave now.

2) The SPI Ports are definitely all set up the same, except I noticed in the example file the slave has the SPI1BR = 0x35; commented out.

3) Not sure how to check this, can you tell how to find out it MOSI is connected to MISO?

0 Kudos

rhinoceroshead
Contributor I
1) I think Alex was speaking of the 'SS' (slave select) signal.  Many SPI devices will not respond without being selected first, thus allowing more than one slave device to connect to the master.  So before the master transmits, it should drive the SS pin on the slave device low.  I believe there are some configuration options though - it's been a while since I looked at the SPI module datasheet.

2)  The baud rate is irrelevant on the slave device since it doesn't drive the clock so it can be commented out

3)  Make sure the MOSI pin is NOT connected to MISO.  The MOSI pin of the master should be connected to the MOSI pin of the slave and the MISO pin of the master should be connected to the MISO pin of the slave.  The pin names should show up on the datasheet.
MISO = Master In, Slave Out
MOSI = Master Out, Slave In

If you connect MOSI to MISO then you can use the device in bi-directional mode and it only uses one wire.

It might be more helpful if you post the code that you are using and describe how the two devices are connected.
0 Kudos

billp
Contributor I