Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Executing out of Winbond serial NOR flash on the MIMXRT1024

Jump to solution
BAW
Contributor I

Hello,

I am new to the MXRT parts. I have a MIMXRT1024 eval board. There is a "on-chip" Winbond serial NOR flash (W25Q32JV) connected to the processor via the Flex SPI peripheral. It looks like the access speed is 133 MHZ per bit or 16.625 MHZ per byte.

To XIP our application out of the flash would be extremely slow.

Is my understanding incorrect?

Is XIP out of the flash just not something that is done and the flash is just used as a file system where you store your application and run your application out of RAM?

The issue we would have running out of RAM is that our application program size is larger than the 256KB on the part.

Thanks for any insight,

Brent

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
lucas_cao
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi @BAW 

For quad mode, it should be :

clock frequency is 133 MHZ for 4 bits => 133 * 4 / 8 = 66.5 MB/sec

But when you using our SDK with IDE(IAR, MCUXpress, Keil), the flashloader will help you enable the Quad mode.

I don't know where the document share this information......Maybe some where have that but i don't know.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
BAW
Contributor I

Thanks for the additional info Lucas.

I just want to understand what the access rate of the flash will be when XIP. This is from the reference manual.

24.4 Quad Serial Peripheral Interface

This chip has one Quad Serial Peripheral Interface block (named FlexSPI) acts as an interface to one or two external serial flash devices, each with up to four bidirectional data lines.

The key features includes:

• Each channel can be configured as 1/2/4-bit operation

• Support both dual-channel or single-channel operation

• Support both SDR mode and DDR mode

• Support up to 166MHz SDR Mode and 166MHz DDR Mode (with external Flash

device DQS input)