Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Relocate vector table to ITCM

Jump to solution
Davidino
Contributor IV

Goodmorning,

I'm a newbie nxp processor, I'm using imxrt1064-evk board and SDK version 2.9.1

I'm trying to move the IVT to RAM in order to have an increase with the performances. Looking at several threads in the forum, I didn't find a guide for that. So what I did is:

1. Partition a RAM block from ITCM called SRAM_ITC_IVT that can contain the vector tableNuova immagine bitmap.bmp
  2. Using managed linker script to configure memory RAM_ITC_IVT as a KEEP(*(.isr_vector))Nuova immagine bitmap (2).bmp
  3. Copy the vector table from rom to ram and change the location pointed by SCB->VTOR

#define TABLE_SIZE	173

uint32_t ramVector[TABLE_SIZE+1] __attribute__((aligned(512))) __attribute__((section(".isr_vector")));

/*!
 * @brief Main function
 */
int main(void)
{
    __disable_irq();
    memcpy(ramVector, (uint32_t*)SCB->VTOR, sizeof(uint32_t) * TABLE_SIZE);
    SCB->VTOR = (uint32_t)ramVector;
    __enable_irq();

/* Init board hardware. */
    BOARD_ConfigMPU();
    BOARD_InitPins();
    BOARD_InitBootClocks();

I didn't change anything else. Is it correct?

Thank you a lot,

Davidino

0 Kudos
1 Solution
jeremyzhou
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi,
Thanks for your reply.
1) Can you help me to sort out the above errors? Don't I need to partition the RAM for this, right?
-- To provide the fastest possible support, I'd highly recommend you to refer to the hello_demo code, it has integrated the BOARD_RelocateVectorTableToRam function successfully.
2) If I change the project configuration from nohost to none, can I expect an improvement in the performance?
-- No, I'm afraid not.
3) BOARD_RelocateVectorTableToRam function can copy the vector table to RAM from flash, and it needs to copy the corresponding interrupt service routines to the RAM too if you want to expect the performance boost up.