Qt in Yocto on imx28

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Qt in Yocto on imx28

contra
Contributor III

Hi, apologies but I am relatively new to building Linux and Yocto and I've hit a sticking point.

I have Linux running via the core-image-minimal bitbake and now I need to get Qt in the build, I would rather have Qt5 but anything will do at this point. Can anyone point me to a tutorial or guide that will show me how to integrate Qt into this image and run an example Qt application. I really don't know where to start with this.

Thanks in advance.

Labels (3)
0 Kudos
13 Replies

Alvin
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi David Lawson,

The simplest way is to build an images with QT integrated, such as fsl-image-gui.

$bitbake fsl-imag-gui

0 Kudos

contra
Contributor III

Hi, Thanks for the reply. I have the fsl-image-gui working but I need to run Qt without the desktop front end. Is it possible to stop the desktop from loading or immediately boot the Qt application?

0 Kudos

Alvin
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi,

alternatively, you can add the QT package into the core-image-minimal recipe.

how to add a pkg to an images, following is for your reference:

https://community.freescale.com/docs/DOC-94967

i.MX Yocto Project: How do I add an existing package to an image?

0 Kudos

contra
Contributor III

Thanks, which packages should I add?

I have tried the following but backend-gstreamer fails to build.

qt4-plugin-phonon-backend-gstreamer \

qt4-demos \

qt4-examples \

Once this is complete is there a way to test an example?

0 Kudos

OtavioSalvador
Senior Contributor II

Hello David,

We've been supporting some customers using Qt4 and Qt5. Inside FSL Community BSP you can use:

$: bitbake qte-in-use-image

as an example, it provides a fake HMI interface to control a smart home. It is nice.

0 Kudos

contra
Contributor III

Hi, thanks the smarthome works but the touchscreen doesn't. I have tried: