How to get started with coding an imx6 encoder?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to get started with coding an imx6 encoder?

Jump to solution
moire59
Contributor II

I've never done anything like this before. It took me a while to setup a working cross compiler, I now boot my imx6 from NFS and save my files there. And that's great. But there is a lot I still don't understand.

Where should I start from? Is there some working reference encoder out there? Because I've found some: https://github.com/ahmedammar/imx-testing-apps-misc/ and https://github.com/Freescale/libimxvpuapi. I've tried with the first, but I have no idea of where to find some of the included headers (like drm/imx-ipu-v3-ioctls.h). Even by removing the .c/.h files related to it I still can't compile the encoder after having placed vpu_x.y in my includes directory. I've yet to try with libimxvpuapi.

Is the correct way of compiling those projects to simply add the vpu_x files in my eclipse include directory? They are gonna exist in the host once the executable is ran there, right?

Anyway, if someone had some tutorial or documentation I missed, please let me know. Sorry for my dumbness.

1 Solution
chuck1
Contributor III

Giovanni,

I come from the TI DaVinci digital media processor SoC world, i.e., the DM 36x and DM81xx platforms, so I too am new to the i.MX6 SoC as well as the Freescale application development infrastructure.  Clearly, the two companies have very different developer support models: TI delivers a complete SDK with each of its platforms while Freescale seems to expect the developer to fend for his/herself and/or contract with third party companies for product development assistance, at least that is my impression.