cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

30 screenshot Per Second

scalvi
Contributor I

Hello,

Using an iMX8M quad core board, I need to take 30 screenshot per second.

So far I have looked into grim and slurp code but my Yocto build is Zeus and the Weston 9.0 Compositor does not allow the screenshot to be processed. I have then looked into the screenshooter.c code and I am able to take up to 8 screenshot per second by removing the file write (only the raw screenshot is needed for me). I am very new at working with Wayland protocol and before I used to do the same with a X11GetImage call (slightly modified to not re-allocate the memory all the time) but this is not doable with Wayland.

I am ready to try a solution with Qt QScreen::GrabWindow but I'm afraid this is going to be the same problem...

I'm thinking that it will be great to be able to address the compositor directly but my understanding of Wayland is that this is not made for such interaction.

Please help,

Any suggestion welcome!!!

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
8 Replies

Zhiming_Liu
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi @scalvi 

The screenshot client costs 0.17s to grab a frame.QT uses wayland as a backend, i think it could get same issue.But you should try QT, as the weston compositor can't capture so fast.

Regards

Zhiming

0 Kudos

scalvi
Contributor I

Hi Zhiming,

I am going to try Qt.

Also, I came accross libweston/backend-fbdev/fbdev.c, is that a Weston frame-buffer backend? If so, how to use it? Sorry but Wayland is totally new for me. Using a frame buffer might be the way to do that kind of quick screenshooting.

Thank you,

Sebastien.

0 Kudos

Zhiming_Liu
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi @scalvi 

i.MX8M series can't support framebuffer.You can also try gnome shell in ubuntu desktop.

https://www.nxp.com/webapp/sps/download/preDownload.jsp?render=true

0 Kudos

scalvi
Contributor I

Hi Zhiming,