Can a car memorize the whole route?

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can a car memorize the whole route?

368 Views
admin
Specialist II

Hello, In the recent light of last finals I would like to clarify one specific ability of the car and a certain situation. My question is as follows:

Can a car memorize the whole route or a part of it and use it to win the race?

If this feature of the car isn't prohibited and the TFC 2014 EMEA Challenge Rules states:

"Team has 3 attempts to achieve a full lap. The time of the first successful lap is the time recorded for the team."

Then a certain situation can have a place which is described as follows:

On the first lap car on purpose falls out from the track just before the finish line. During the second time it attempts to finish the lap but using informations gathered during the first lap.

Also, now there are two different matters.

How the referees will check if the vehicle is able to memorize the track and what are the consequences?

The other matter is connected with one of the last year's team. The team used an algorithm which allowed their car to record the route and in the result it led them to winning the race.

0 Kudos
1 Reply

64 Views
FlavioStiffan
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi,

There is no rule against memorizing the track however, the rule about taking the time of the first successful lap will be enforced. If the car exits "on purpose" before the end of track the judges might disqualify the car on the ground that you have done a test as described on Section 9 point 11.

0 Kudos