cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Evaluation license for "CodeWarrior for Microcontrollers v6.3" not working

guix
Contributor I

Hello,

I am a hobbyist and a new user of Codewarrior IDE, I'm trying to repurpose an old device which uses a MC68HC908LJ12CFBE and a segmented LCD display, so I want to write a program for this microcontroller.

I have downloaded "CodeWarrior for Microcontrollers (RS08HC(S)08-ColdFire V1) v6.3.exe" but unfortunately it doesn't run on Windows 11 64bits, so instead I downloaded and installed an unofficial version of this software that I found here, thankfully : https://community.nxp.com/t5/Classic-Legacy-CodeWarrior/Installing-CodeWarrior-Classic-6-3-on-Window...

I have generated my license file, and put the content in "license.dat", I also manually ran "bin/regservers.bat" as I saw on a video in a similar question on this forum. I also tried to run the software with Administrator rights.

But still it's not working, almost nothing can be used in CodeWarrior or Processor Expert. Everything seem to be unlicensed and run in demo mode. For example, in Processor Expert, I try to add the 'Init_LCD" component, it says "Licensed component (Basic beans). You haven't any license to use it.", and when I click Generate Code, it will generate this:

void LCD1_Init(void)
{
/*
 #####  Here will be code if you have a full registered version  #####
*/
}

cw.jpg 

Here is an extract of my license.dat file, showing that I should be able to use the LCD component (right ?). I replaced some values with XXX, I don't know if that was important)

# License for ANY
INCREMENT PE_LCDHC08 metrowks 1.0 14-apr-2024 uncounted XXXXXXXXXXXX \
VENDOR_STRING="CodeWarrior for Microcontrollers - Professional \
Edition Evaluation / Updates" HOSTID=ANY ISSUER="NXP \
Semiconductor" ISSUED=16-mar-2024 ck=142 SN="FSL - XXXXXXX" \
TS_OK