Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I2C / FlexIO: HLD(MCAL) vs LLD

Jump to solution
Vojtech
Contributor II

Hello,

I am new in NXP products and I am trying to understand its eco system. I need to implement I2C in non-Autosar application, so I would need to understand how it works here, so I had some questions:

1)

In RTD_I2C_UM.pdf is written:

"The I2c driver is implemented as an Autosar complex device driver. It uses the LPI2c and FlexIO hardware peripheral which provides support for implementing the I2c protocol. The I2c driver implements both master and slave mode for LPI2c channels and only master for FlexIO channels. The driver offers a hardware independent API to the upper layer that can be used to configure the"    ……   

" Physical I2c Channels: LPI2C_0, LPI2C_1, FlexIO"

Additionally in all the examples for I2C which I have found is used FlexIO.

So do I understand correctly that if I want to use I2C RTD driver (HLD or LLD), so I always have to use FlexIO as well? If yes, so what is the reason for that? Why LPI2C_0 /LPI2C_1 peripheral is not enough for I2C RTD?

2)

If I developed AUTOSAR application so I have to use HLD (MCAL) I2C driver that is clear to me. But if developed non-Autosar application, so is there any drawback if I use HLD (MCAL) driver ? What are the decision factors that need to be taken into accout (If RTOS is used and there are no issues with LPI2C_0 /LPI2C_1 pins positions)?

3)

In AN13435 is written "In the S32 Configuration Tool both HL and IP interfaces of the driver can be configured.."  Do I understand correctly that HL is the same in this context as HLD ( MCAL) and IP (Intellectual property) in this context is the same as LLD? So If I see in any source file name written "IP" so it is always LLD?

I see the same logic here:

Vojtech_3-1690190298614.png

4)