May I move ANSI C lib from NON_BANKED memory to a BANKED memory?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

May I move ANSI C lib from NON_BANKED memory to a BANKED memory?

Jump to solution
jameshdx80
Contributor II

Hello,

I've been working with S12 microcontrollers for many years and we have migrated our product to HCS12XE two years ago. Due to our extended use of NON_BANKED memory for OS and other legacy codes, we are now out of non banked space.

Inspecting .map files we've noticed that ANSI C occupies a significant area of our non banked memory with several function such as:

F_DIVKL 3D30 84 132 1 NON_BANKED

F_MULKL 3DB4 57 87 1 NON_BANKED

In the following post it has been said that you don't encourage user modify ansi lib file.

https://community.nxp.com/t5/CodeWarrior-for-MCU/How-to-relocate-memory-library-function-using-pragm...

Is there any specific reason? 

Thanks

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
lama
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi,

I am a little bit confused what you are doing (and not only me) but if we are not talking about flash (which was not originally mentioned, I supposed that we are talking about unpaged flash) but the issue is the unbanked RAM size then there is a possibility to make 16kB unbanked RAM by means of combination of RAMHM and ROMHM bits. I have never used it but I see it will needs more than only change these bits at appropriate place but also think about how the application is compiled, to change prm file.

The linear RAM space of 16kB size can be created at address space 0x4000~0x7FFF. I suggest you to look at attached memory map…lines 35~42.

Best regards,

Ladislav

View solution in original post

4 Replies
jameshdx80
Contributor II

Dr. Ladislav,

Thank you for replying(@lama)! In order to anticipate the answer, we are not using 0xC000-0xFFFF. But not so sure if this will solve my problem. I am sorry for posting a vague question like that. Let me give you a more detailed perspective.