I2S communication with LPCXpresso55s69

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I2S communication with LPCXpresso55s69

scoottroop
Contributor II

Hello! i'm currently working on a project where i need to transmit data from a sound analyser to the LPCXpresso55s69 through I2s, and I can't quite wrap my head around which ports I should use. I'm new to the microcontroller and I'm new to the i2s protocol in general!

From the datasheet I see some pins related to i2s
PIO0_19-21 and PIO1_13. I know I need 3 pins, PIO1_13 could be used for receiving data I think, but I'm unsure which pins to use for word select and sck since PIO0_19-21 are referred to as Tx/ transmitting.
In general, do you have any tips when choosing pins, are there any guides on which function to use in different applications and how to initiate them in the source file? I've seen a tutorial on choosing the pin layout using the config tools, but not how to initiate the code in the source file!

Thank you in advance, hope my question is somewhat clear!

0 Kudos
5 Replies

xiangjun_rong
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi,

For LPC55S69, It is okay to use the following pins as I2S pins.

1)PIO0_19: FC4_SCK, I2S bit clock

2)PIO1_20:FC4_TXD_SCL_MISO_WS, I2S frame clock

3)PIO1_21:FC4_RXD_SDA_MOSI_DATA, I2S data pin.

The above interface can function as either receiver or transmitter, master or slave

Hope it can help you

BR

XiangJun Rong

0 Kudos

scoottroop
Contributor II

Hey @xiangjun_rong ! Thank you for clarifying! I've changed the pins and I've tried to take some parts from the i2s_interrupt_record_playback SDK example but I'm very unsure about what I am doing, especially regarding the clock sources used. Since the microcontroller will be considered the slave device, it should have an external clock signal, but I'm unsure how to apply it.