What are task queues?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What are task queues?

MQXuser
Contributor III

Im new to RTOS and I am looking for information about task queues.
Where can I find basic information about how task queues work or can somebody explain it?

Regards

0 Kudos
15 Replies

DavidS
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi MQXuser,

Best location is to look in the ~Freescale MQX 3.x\doc\mqx\MQXUG.pdf section 3.7.8.  It explains the fifo ask and reviews the example that is in the ~Freescale MQX 3.x\mqx\examples\taskq directory.

Regards,

David

0 Kudos

MQXuser
Contributor III

I read the documentation before but there are still some questions. To be more specific:

Can I place the same task two times into the task queue?

I need to synchronize a task with an ISR but I need that the task executes 1 time by everytime the interrupt is triggered. If the interrupt gets triggered faster than the task: Can I still make the task run all the times the interrupt have been triggered?

Regards,

0 Kudos

EAI
Contributor IV

A task may only be enqueued once before a corresponding dequeue.

You want a lwSem. The ISR posts for every interrupt occurrence. The tasks waits on the LWsem.

0 Kudos

MQXuser
Contributor III

Of course that is what I need. Sometimes its hard to start thinking in terms of RTOS.

Many thanks.

0 Kudos

MQXuser
Contributor III

I am not sure what my problem is but I have certain clues.

My interrupt post a semaphore.

This interrupt gets triggered about every 2ms for a period of around 50ms. The last time the interrupt gets triggered(from each 50ms group) must post a semaphore but for some reason I get an Unhandled Interrupt comming from shell task. It is like if the interrupt didnt have enough time to run before the next interrupt pulse comes. How can I overcome this?