cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LPC-LINK2 for LPC4370

patricio
Contributor IV

Hi, 

I am thinking to use a LPC-LINK2 as a evaluation board of the LPC4370 microcontroller, due to its high speed ADC (80Msps). I have several questions about it and I would appreciate if you could help me with them:

1. Which software  would be the most appropriate, having in mind that I have no experience with non of them I would need to import examples to work with them: LPCXpresso or MCUXpresso?

2. NXP doesn´t recommend LPC-LINK2 for new designes, and the recommended replacement boards work with LPC55S69, which ADC only reach 1Msps. Does it mean that there will be a lack of eval boards for LPC4370 microcontrollers? What alternative do we have for those of us who want to work with the LPC4370?

Thank you in advance for your answer.

0 Kudos
7 Replies

frank_m
Senior Contributor III

> I am thinking to use a LPC-LINK2 as a evaluation board of the LPC4370 microcontroller, due to its high speed ADC (80Msps).

> 2. NXP doesn´t recommend LPC-LINK2 for new designes, and the recommended replacement boards work with LPC55S69, ...

As I understand it, you want to use the LPC4370 on the LPC-Link board for your own project evaluation.

But I think there is a misunderstanding : "LPC-Link not recommended for new designs" does not mean "LPC4370 not recommended".
The LPC-Link section is often integral part of other evaluation boards, and can be used by customers for the same purpose. This is not recommended anymore.
As long as the NRND label is not applies the the LPC4370 MCU itself, it should not be a problem.

As a side note:
... due to its high speed ADC (80Msps).

I hope you are aware that the proper circuit and PCB design for frequencies in the VHF range is far from trivial. Just saying.

patricio
Contributor IV

Thank you Frank_m for your reply. 

I am aware that LPC4370 is active and with no risk of NRND for the moment.