cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Getting started with NXP MCUs

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by normnet22 on Fri Oct 24 04:41:13 MST 2014
First post.
I have many years programming experience with PIC18's in Basic and several months in C.
I have found the limits for both audio and graphics and wish to use a higher speed MCU.
The 200 MHz PIC32MZ is a new product and reportably isn't quite ready.

Is the LPCXpresso IDE and the LPC Link 2 combination doable as a starting point with NXP or should I consider a more basic MCU?
Is the LPC43xx series considered stable and ready for prime time?
Which of the 2 LPC Link 2's is compatible with LPCXpresso IDE?

Norm
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
11 Replies

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by normnet22 on Wed Nov 12 06:17:29 MST 2014
The line of which you speak:
arm-none-eabi-size "LPC4370_LEDblinky.axf"; # arm-none-eabi-objcopy -O binary "LPC4370_LEDblinky.axf" "LPC4370_LEDblinky.bin" ; checksum -p LPC4370 -d "LPC4370_LEDblinky.bin";
occurs during the build.
After the build I then right click the "LPC4370_LEDblinky.axf" >Binary Utilities>Create binary as noted in the post #8 link.
The following 2 files appear as a result:
LPC4370_LEDblinky.bin
LPC4370_LEDblinky.bin.hdr

Does the CMSIS_LPC43xx_DriverLib belong in Project Explorer where it is?
0 Kudos

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by MikeSimmonds on Wed Nov 12 01:37:38 MST 2014
Look at the line after the 'post build steps' in your screenshot.

You need to remove the '#' from this command line (to get a raw binary from the axf).

The '#' is a comment character and therefore prevents the 'objcopy' tool from running.

HTH Mike.
0 Kudos

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by normnet22 on Tue Nov 11 21:07:16 MST 2014