Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MCG mode in KL05z

nguyennhatminh
Contributor IV

Hi guy, ?

I'm studying the MCG of KL05Z.

I open the sysinit.c in the sample code.

I see the function mcg_clk_hz =  fei_fee(CLK0_FREQ_HZ,HIGH_GAIN,CLK0_TYPE);

I understand this function is transform FEI mode into FEE mode by IREFS ( internal reference select bit) in MCG_C1.

can i keep the FEI mode ?

There are many MCG mode in the KL05Z , so would you like to give  me some advices when a mode is chosen  ?

Thanks,

Nhat Minh.

Labels (1)
Tags (3)
0 Kudos
3 Replies

adriancano
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi,

The function that you mentioned moves from FEI (FLL Engaged Internal) mode to FEE (FLL Engaged External) mode. The FEE mode operates with the external reference clock. This means you are changing form the operation with the internal reference clock (IRC) to the external reference clock. See this modes of operations and a description in the reference manual (Document Number: KL05P48M48SF1RM ) in the section 24.4.1.1 MCG modes of Operartion.

The MCG FEI mode is the default mode, it means after reset the devices goes into this mode, the typical frequency (fMCGOUTCLK) is 21 MHz. if you want to stay in the FEI mode then do not modify the MCG registers.

If you want to achieve different modes you need to do transition between them in an specific order. You can see the MCG mode state diagram (Figure 24-11) in the Reference Manual to see this feature.

Hope this information helps!

Reference Manual:

http://cache.freescale.com/files/32bit/doc/ref_manual/KL05P48M48SF1RM.pdf?&Parent_nodeId=&Parent_pag...

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Note: If this post answers your question, please click the Correct Answer button. It would be nice!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

0 Kudos