Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DMA with MCF5485

Shade
Contributor I
Hi,

I'm a beginner with the ColdFire.
My task is to develop an embedded application using DMA. It looks like the Multichannel DMA API is not working as stated in the User's Guide, and the behavior is not stable.
Is there anybody who has experience with DMA? Any hints or suggestions are welcome.

Thank you,
Ivan
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
3 Replies

mccPaul
Contributor I
Hi Ivan,

What is the problem exactly? It will help if you can say what you are trying to do and what is the unexpected behaviour that you see. If you can post the source code that you are using to configure the DMA transfer that may also help.

Cheers,

Paul.
0 Kudos

Shade
Contributor I
Hi Paul,

I made some tests to investigate the behavior of the DMA API. The API documentation (24.3.4.3) says that the external request base address “contains an address value used for the compare that determines a hit for the external acknowledge signal DACK. But it seems to do a lot more than that.
If you use edge triggered DREQ, then you better have your registers programmed so that the address compare match occurs. If you do not, the external DMA request is not cleared and the transfer continues through the subsequent buffer descriptors.

I’m posting the code of a DMA test. It triggers by asserting the initiator, goes through a series of buffer descriptors organized in ring, and stops at the first buffer descriptor ready for the next triggering. No intervention of the processor is expected to make the task ready:

1. Buffer descriptors bd[0] and bd[1] read a 32-bit value from a memory location and copy it to two 16-bit values. There is no address match so the transfer continues.
2. Buffer descriptor bd[2] makes buffer descriptor bd[3] ready by copying the MCD_BUF_READY to bd[3].flags. No address match.