AN3470SW CW 6.3 memmove / tk_switch problem

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AN3470SW CW 6.3 memmove / tk_switch problem

DarrenSteadman
Contributor I
This is a bit of a strange one and it has taken me a while to debug things this far. (I'm totally new to Coldfire)

I've been using the demos from the AN3470SW app note to create an application that will talk to some of our existing equipment via serial and pass it along to a PC via ethernet, so a basic serial to ethernet converter. To get this working properly I had to modify the example slightly as well as the size of some of the TCP buffers to get optimal through put for our application.

I then added the HTTP server example to the code so I could work on a way of configuring the device.

This is when things went wrong. If I try to stream serial data through the device the RTOS crashes due to a stack gaurd word on the "Main" task being overridden.

I set a write watchpoint on the guardword and it stops in _tk_switch

_tk_switch:
   move.w  #0x2700,SR     /* disable ints */
   move.l   4(A7),D0         /* save passed tk pointer in D0 */
   move.l   D2,-(A7)         /* push the non-volitile gp registers */
   move.l   D3,-(A7)
   move.l   D4,-(A7)
   move.l   D5,-(A7)
   move.l   D6,-(A7)
   move.l   D7,-(A7)
   move.l   A1,-(A7)  //Stops here

The call stack shows that irq_handler is being called continuously and it is trying to print something to the console. I never actually see this output so I assume that the UART is not being processed because so much time is being spent in the IRQ.

I removed the printf statement to see what would happen and tried again. This time the application didn't crash, however our PC app stopped receiving data completely. If I stopped execution of the coldfire it was nearly always in the interrupt handler.