Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Include compile errors, CW ver 5.1

Jump to solution
jsingh
Contributor I

Hello,

I am fairly new to CW Dev suite (V5.1) for HSC12.

A)

I have an include statement in the assembly file I am using, (main.asm). The statement is

#include      reg9s12.h     ; include register equates

I cannot get this to compile. Other variations also don't compile, (i.e. without the #, or with the file name in "" and with/or without file file path) and I get errors related to this line in the asm file.

If I comment this line out, I get compile errors for code further down the file, as that part of the core requires constants, declared in the above include file. 

Please note that I am using a stationary for C projects, with 'main.c' file as the top file.

B)

The above reg9s12.h starts with

;*  HC12 I/O Register locations (MC9S12DP256B)

and ends with

;* end registers

For the first line, the compiler gives C1018 error, (illegal type composition)

C)

Lastly could someone explain the diff between include statements with file name in <f_name> or in "f_name" ?

Thank you!

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
BlackNight
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hello,

as a general note on assembler, have a look at C:\Freescale\CWS12v5.1\Help\PDF\Assembler_HC12.pdf

A) if using assembly, use INCLUDE to include a file (#include is for C/C++ language) (page 278)

B) I think you want to include an assembly include file (located in C:\Freescale\CWS12v5.1\lib\hc12c\include)

C) To my knowlede, the assembler only allows "...". <..> is used by the compiler for 'library' files.

I hope this helps,

Erich

View solution in original post

6 Replies
tommiller
Contributor I

I believe the file you are looking for is mc9s12dp256.inc, located in the CWS12v5.1\lib\hc12c\include directory.