Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Code Size Problem with HCS08 and CodeWarrior v6.1

Jump to solution
demoqe128
Contributor I
Hello Everybody,

I'm an software engineer and I'm working with the DEMOQE128 Board and the controller MC9S08QE128CLH.

I made my first steps with the (free) SPECIAL Edition V.1 of CodeWarrior for Microcontrollers. Now my company bought a FLOATING License of the CodeWarrior Basic Edition, beaucse of the limited code size.

I'm still working with the installed Basic Edition and the floating license was installed on a floating license Server. Can I still use my CodeWarrior Software Version 6.1 or do I need to install an other software version of CodeWarrior?

I'm not sure if my currently used CodeWarrior is licensed or not.. I can't find any information about the license status. Not in the "about box" of my software or elsewehre..

Now my system became very large.. and the limited code size was exceeded... Follwing messages appears out of my linker: "L1102: Out of allocation in segment ROM at address 7FDF..."

It seems like as my CodeWarrior Basic Edition V6.1 is still a Special Edition...

Now, my Questions... :smileyhappy:
So, what can I do to find out if my CodeWarrior is correctly licensed???
Or, what else could be the cause of my linker error?
And my last general question... Can I still use my (free) special Code Warrior when I want to license it to the basic code warrior.. ?

Thanks a lot! :robotwink:

Cheers!
Sebastian
Labels (1)
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
CompilerGuru
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Hi Sebastian,

Reducing the code size is always good, but not necessary in you case.
There are two ways to provide more space in you case, use the banked memory model (recommended) or to provide additional space in the small memory model.
In order to switch to banked, you have to adapt the compiler options, the prm, use a different set of libraries and
explicitly place interrupt handlers non banked with a