MC9S08QE128 KBI interrupt issues - sometimes second interrupt does not fire after the first one

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MC9S08QE128 KBI interrupt issues - sometimes second interrupt does not fire after the first one

petrascerniausk
Contributor II

Hello! We have a product based on Freescale MC9S08QE128 MCU that uses 2 KBI interrupt pins to determine time difference between certain related external events that are a few (2-20) milliseconds apart. As KBI interrupt fires our KBI ISR loops while KBF == 1 disabling any asserted KBI pins and setting KBACK = 1 effectively making sure that when we leave KBI ISR we are ready to receive new KBI interrupt. The problem is that sometimes after the first interrupt fires the second interrupt does not. I studied KBI block diagram and I understand that any enabled asserted KBI pin will prevent generation of new KBI interrupt. But it seems to me there is a potential MCU bug where even if asserted pin is disabled it prevents generation of new interrupt. This same behavior was mentioend by Javier Rodriguez in "MC13213 : Problem using KBI interrupt" thread. Assuming this is MCU bug is there a workaround besides polling of second KBI line after the first interrupt? Thanks!

Labels (1)
19 Replies

petrascerniausk
Contributor II

Guys, thanks for all your help. Once I switched to edges and levels KBI detection mode the interrupts started working reliably. I am pretty sure the problem is with the signal that is supposed to generate an interrupt and not with MCU KBI implementation which seems to work just as described by above mentioned diagram. Thanks again!

- Petras

0 Kudos

Leojunin
Contributor III