Can't get QB4 to work with internal oscillator or external

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Can't get QB4 to work with internal oscillator or external

penguin
Contributor I
I am a newbie and I believe that the assembler program I wrote to toggle the PortB output pins works.  I believe this since I used P&E Cyclone Pro in HC08 debugger mode and ran the code and it produced a square wave as I expected on the PortB pins,  I then tryed to run it on a prototype board and it won't produce any output on the PortB pins.  I have checked to ensure that there is power and ground supplied.  I also have the reset pin tied High and the IRQ pin tied high through external pullup resistors.  I have also got the Ceramic and Tanalum bypass Capacitors  on VDD.

When I ran the code on the P&E Cyclone Pro I got a square wave with a period of 40 usec.  20 usecs high and low.  Here is my code that I used.

org   START

rsp

test4     lda   #%11111110
            sta   PORTB   ;

test5     sta   COPCTL
            lda   #%11111110
            sta   DDRB    ;PTB,5 is output because NC

LDA PORTB
TEST7  EOR #%11111110
            STA PORTB; toggle portb output         
            BRA   TEST5
Your help would be much appriciated  
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
5 Replies

penguin
Contributor I
Thank you for your help Encoder but, I tryed your S19 file on the prototype board and got nothing.   I have been using the P&E Cyclone Pro to program and the HC08 Debugger to test the code.  I am using CASM08 to asseble and build the S19 file that I use for programming.  The code works ok when it is used in the Cyclone Pro Debugger program, but not on the prototype board.
0 Kudos

Encoder
Contributor I
Sorry for that.
I can't see anything obviously wrong on your code and infact it works, provided initial declarations. My interrupt dummy entries are only optional.