cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

K64 UART Receiver Active Flag "RAF"

Designer11
Contributor IV

Hi,

I'm new to the Kinetis K64 series of microcontrollers. I would like to detect whether the UART receiver line is idle or active. I'm currently using Processor Expert  AS1_ReceiveBlock(), UART1 to receive incoming serial data and it works great. I know that UART1_S2 is the status register i need to work with.  But how do i access the RAF field ?

Thanks,

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
7 Replies

kerryzhou
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi Designer11,

From the register description:

pastedImage_1.png

You can get that the RAF bit is read only.

If you want to access this bit, just read UART1_S2[RAF] bit in the code is OK.

You can use code:

UART1_S2 & UART_S2_RAF_MASK

If this result is 0x0, it means the RAF bit is 0:UART receiver idle/inactive waiting for a start bit..

If the result is 0x01, it means the RAF bit is 1:UART receiver active, RxD input not idle.

Wish it helps you!

If you still have question, please let me know!

Have a great day,
Kerry

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Note: If this post answers your question, please click the Correct Answer button. Thank you!
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

0 Kudos

Designer11
Contributor IV

Hi Kerry,

Thanks for your help. However, whenever the interrupt happened it called PE_DEBUGHALT(); function 

Below is the example code. What is going on ?

if (UART1_S2 & UART_S2_RAF_MASK){
   i = 1;
}

Thanks,

0 Kudos

kerryzhou
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi Degisner11,

When the interrupt happened, it called PE_DEBUGHALT().

Did you add the interrupt ISR function?