cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SPI block device

ajmorris
Contributor II

Hi there,

so a few months ago i started playing around with an i.mx23 evk board for a project im working on. I was having issues communicating via the spi port. I had some help in another post here: https://community.freescale.com/thread/298439 on how to get spi communication on the board.

For a while i couldn't focus much on the project, and as such i did not get very far with the spi communication. I have taken example code that is shipped with the kernel documentation and tried to send data over the spi port on the 120 pin breakout connector using a custom PCB (see photo) IMG_20121023_114847.jpg

Essentially, the issue i am having is actually getting a block device for the spi interface in /dev. I have compiled the spi packages into the kernel, inbuilt not as modules, and i can see 'spi' in /proc/devices, however there is no /dev/spidev or /dev/spi or anything relevant to spi in /dev that i can use to physically communicate over the port. What am i missing? How do i gain access to a spi block device so my code can open the device for communication?

Thanks,

Andrew

Labels (2)
6 Replies

YixingKong
Senior Contributor IV

Andrew, did Marek Vasut answer your question? If yes, please mark the his answer as Correct Answer.

Thanks,

Yixing

0 Kudos

MarekVasut
Senior Contributor I

I'd recommend you give a shot to upstream kernel (3.7), I recently tested it there. You'll just have to add a DT snippet like this:

ssp0: ssp@80010000 {

#address-cells = <1>;

#size-cells = <0>;

compatible = "fsl,imx28-spi";

pinctrl-names = "default";

pinctrl-0 = <&spi0_pins_a>;

clock-frequency = <3000000>;

status = "okay";

spidev@0x00 {

compatible = "spidev";

spi-max-frequency = <30000000>;

reg = <0>;

};

};

As for non-DT board-file init, you want something like this:

static struct spi_board_info spi_board_info[] __initdata = {

{