DIY programmer wanted....versitile design preferred!

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DIY programmer wanted....versitile design preferred!

jaydag71
Contributor I
 I have werked with the PIC's and AVR and also have a 68HC11 dev board, it is a bit dated now, but I still use it now and then, but as I am fairly new to the micro, am struggling with many aspects. I have a bunch of devices, many hc08,908 etc that I would like to be able to program. I ahev read a coupld of posts regarding the subject, and found that the chips can be programmed easily via serial and max232, but wonder if this werks for all versions, or just a couple? What about when I want to use hc12 devices? Any help with a good design, link whatever would be great!!!
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
4 Replies

mke_et
Contributor IV
I picked up the USB-BDM module for use with a 9S12 design where I previously was using the BDM-Multilink that hooks on the LPT port.  It works, but it's a pain in that I have to give up an LPT port, and in the fact that on XP systems there's an undocumented 'poll' that can take place on the LPT port that messes things up.  Not that big a deal, as Metrowerks had a registry change that fixed that, but it wasn't just a matter of moving the pod to a different machine.

The reason I mention it is that the new USB-BDM pod is under $100 on the Freescale web site bundled with CW3.1SW for both the 12 and the 08 processors.  They bundle the 08 code since the USB-BDM supposedly supports MON08 for the 08 parts.  Well, mostly.  I'm using the KX08 in one of my designs, and oops, no go.  I did upgrade my developement for the KX08 part to the latest CW just to have a single base for my developement tools, and the LPT based MON08-Multilink works find on it.  (With that registry patch on XP machines, of course)