cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MXRT500 MCU AND MXRT595-EVK - Deep Sleep

justinbdaniel
Contributor I

Hi,

I am a research student from Kochi, and I am evaluating the NXP-MXRT 595-EVK Board, Can I put the EVK Board which has the RT595 Chip to sleep?

Is RT500 MCU required, if so when is the RT500 MCU required? and can I test the RT595 Chip without the RT500MCU?

Further I couldnt find any documentation on how to put the EVK board to sleep, BT modes and CC measurement.

0 Kudos
7 Replies

EdwinHz
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi @justinbdaniel,

Good to hear our micros are being used for research. Let me clarify some things so you can move forward with your application. The MIMXRT595-EVK is the evaluation board for development of applications using any MCU of the the i.MX-RT500 family. When you buy the board, a RT595 will come preassembled on your EVK, but it supports other variants as well.

That said, the board only functions as an extension of the MCU, so the i.MX RT itself is what you would put into sleep, not the board. For more information about how to use the RT500 chip, please refer to the i.MX RT500 Reference Manual. Specifically, chapter 8 goes into more information on how to put the MCU on low power modes.

Let me know if this helps!
Edwin.

0 Kudos

justinbdaniel
Contributor I

Hi Edwin,

Thanks for the detailed explanation, could you pls explain me more regarding the difference between the EVK-Board and the Host MCU, or as in your document Crossover MCU's

Regards,

Justin

0 Kudos

EdwinHz
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi @justinbdaniel,

Of course. The i.MX-RT500 is the family of Crossover MCU variants which include the RT533, RT555 and RT595. (BTW, you can find the differences between variants on this table). Buying these will get you a chip, but the PCB to mount the chip to route its connections will have to be done via a custom board designed by you.