cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FreeRTOS+TCP on RT1021 EVK

salva214
Contributor II

Hi,

I'm working on an official RT1021 EVK board to experiment with FreeRTOS and Ethernet communication.

As I'm new to both NXP and FreeRTOS, I started with your TCP Echo example provided in the SDK of the EVK, which is based on LwIP. However, I didn't feel comfortable with that library (it usually runs out of memory after some editing, I don't know why), and I wanted to try the FreeRTOS+TCP one.

I soon discovered that your SDK doesn't provide any working examples based on FreeRTOS+TCP, nor a NetworkInterface suitable for that processor. Luckily, while searching the web, I found that a user on the FreeRTOS forum had done something similar by porting a NetworkInterface for the RT1064: https://forums.freertos.org/t/freertos-tcp-ip-port-for-nxp-imx-rt1064/10175/3

However, for some strange reason, the latest version of the SDK (2.15) for the EVK used a different implementation of the "fsl_enet" driver. Moreover, I was unable to fully understand what the IDE automatically edits when I import something (usually, I discover more modules/drivers imported than I need), and the import of FreeRTOS and the TCP library lacks some directories/files compared to the GitHub repos. So, I decided to do it the old-fashioned way, importing the things I needed into the source folder of my project.

So, I have externally imported the following:
- "enet" driver & "phy" component from https://github.com/nxp-mcuxpresso/mcux-sdk/tree/MCUX_2.12.0_UPDATE
- "freertos-plus-tcp" source from https://github.com/FreeRTOS/FreeRTOS/tree/main/FreeRTOS-Plus (with the relevant NetworkInterface for NXP1060)