cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ethernet Tx/Rx in iMXRt1060

EmbeddedTech
Contributor III

Hi @AbnerWang ,

I would like to use the Ethernet for simple Tx and Rx for sending commands from PC and reading the response from the device. I saw the enet_txrx_transfer demo project in the sdk. I am not sure how to use the MAC address and send commands from PC. Is there any example which I can refer for this requirement. It would be of great help if you could guide me on this.

Thanks.

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
10 Replies

AbnerWang
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi,

Do you mean you want to send layer2 MAC frame from PC to board?

Usually I use https://ostinato.org/. Or you can try Python Scapy, but I rarely use script to do this.

Best Regards.

Abner

Best Regards.
Abner
0 Kudos

EmbeddedTech
Contributor III

Hi @AbnerWang,

I am new to Ethernet and if I want to use ethernet to send command from PC just like RS232 what changes should I do in the enet_txrx_transfer project? I see in the code that MAC address 

#define MAC_ADDRESS \
{ \
0x54, 0x27, 0x8d, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00 \
}

is assigned to the device. So if from my PC if I want to send command to this address and read back the response from the device, how do I implement it? Can I use Teraterm or other free utilities?

Your help on this is much appreciated.

Thanks.

0 Kudos

AbnerWang
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi,

I'm not sure whether the Teraterm support to send layer2 frame. It looks the command you want to send is TCP/IP packets. But SDK driver example only loopback MAC frames. If you want to get response, need to write extra code. Please refer the LwIP examples to find the example such as lwip_ipv4_ipv6_echo_freertos, then use your TCP/IP terminal to send packet to the board. You can get details in example readme.

Best Regards.

Ruijia

Best Regards.
Abner
0 Kudos

EmbeddedTech
Contributor III

Hi @AbnerWang,