i.MX 8M PLUS - Qt5 5.2.15 app does not receive touchscreen Qt::PinchGesture event

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

i.MX 8M PLUS - Qt5 5.2.15 app does not receive touchscreen Qt::PinchGesture event

abdodson
Contributor I

Hello.

I am new to NXP, the i.MX family, Qt5, and touchscreens.  Please bear with me

Executive Summary: we are porting a fairly mature Qt5 application from Android to (Yocto) Linux on the i.MX 8M PLUS.  The Android touchscreen solution works fine with regard to Qt::PanGesture events and Qt::PinchGesture events.  The Linux touchscreen solution works fine with regard to Qt::PanGesture events but not with Qt::PinchGesture events.  The only Linux solution gesture events we are receiving are for Qt::PanGesture events, even when using a two-finger pinch gesture.

Some Details:

* wayland 1.19.0

* weston

* Yotco Hardknott

* Qt5 5.15.2

We have set the C++ class (of interest):

grabGesture(Qt::GestureType::PinchGesture);
grabGesture(Qt::GestureType::PanGesture);

In case this looks familiar to any reader, another dev found it necessary to set the QT_PAN_TOUCHPOINTS QT envvar in the C++ main function in order to receive gesture events with the Android implementation:

qputenv("QT_PAN_TOUCHPOINTS", "1");

We definitely need this for the Linux implementation as well:  without it, we receive only mouse events rather than gesture events.

Any ideas about our problematic build and/or configuration issue?

Thank you for your time.  Let me know if additional details are required.

Meanwhile, I intend to compile and link an open-source Qt5 touchscreen gesture demo as a sanity-check.

Arlis

0 Kudos
3 Replies

abdodson
Contributor I

FYI - I see the same behavior when using the latest (I think) NXP-provided Yocto configuration for the i.MX 8M Plus

re: fsl-imx-wayland/5.15-kirkstone (sysroots/armv8a-poky-linux and x86_64-pokysdk-linux)