IMX233 with ethernet 10/100

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

IMX233 with ethernet 10/100

vudinhminh
Contributor I
I am new for IMX233, but i has experiences with ARM9 of Atmel. I want design a board used IMX233 with Ethernet 10/100. But IMX233 not support Ethernet 10/100. I need some sugget for my design! thank!
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
12 Replies

mikeasa
Contributor I

Hi john;

Not through the forums.

but through the Freescale's Sales rep; I was told that Linux has such drivers,...

the only thing on the forums is that the speed will be very low.

So I may have to use ethernet.

m

0 Kudos

mikeasa
Contributor I

Thanks for the reply.

For the Ethernet over Usb; are there any codes, drivers, ... for imx23/28?

most likely freescale have done that in the past; I just don't know how to get them to reply!

I am new to this.

I have designed with TI, NXP, ... in the past.

It appears that TI has a much more active Forum with many TI engineers anwer forums everyday!

thanks.

0 Kudos

AhmetYUCE
Contributor II

I did not measure exact bandwidth of iMX233 EVK's ethernet connection. Mainly, i use ethernet for nfs mounting of RFS for SW devepoment purposes. All i can say both on board SPI ethernet chip and ethernet over USB is considarably slow in comparison to iMX28's integrated ethernet. And for me, it's not useful for SW development connection because of its speed. If your product needs an ethernet connection with relatively low date rates, it could work for you.

Regards

Ahmet

0 Kudos

mikeasa
Contributor I

Hi Ahmet;

Would you please explain more on your findings of USB ethernet dongle?

I like to try it; but worried on how much bandwidth can I get out of it.

In other words using the Usb to carry ethernet data.

Thank you.

Ahmet YUCE said: