Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Gstreamer over UDP between two RIoT boards with CAM8200-U

Jump to solution
bozhidar1
Contributor II

Hey guys,

I've been stuck on something for quite some time and was curious if you have any ideas. It's my first time using the board or gstreamer or Linux at all, so bare with me.

I have been following few hundred tutorials for gstreamer and what I am trying to accomplish now, is to use gst-launch capture a video, transmit it over ethernet and save it on a second board.

CAM8200-U -> RIoT_1------Ethernet-----RIoT_2 -> Save file.

Both boards are running Linux Yocto v3.10.17.

Currently I am able to save the video with the following line: gst-launch-0.10 v4l2src device=/dev/video0 num-buffers=-1 ! 'video/x-raw-yuv,width=1024,height=768' ! queue ! ffmpegcolorspace ! vpuenc codec=0 ! matroskamux ! filesink location=output.mkv sync=false

What I want to accomplish is instead of saving the file with "filesink" on board 1 to use "udpsink" and send it over to the 2nd board, where I want to save it as a file. Then I want to get the file from the 2nd board and play it on a PC (which I know how to do, I want the video to be "playable" after saving).

Do you have any ideas for a way (gst-launch configuration) to receive this video or any other options? It is just a proof of concept, so I do not care about any formats, settings, etc. I just want to get video, stream it, save it and then be able to play it.

Thanks in advance!

Cheers,

Bozhidar

Some useful links:

CAM8200-U: https://www.element14.com/community/servlet/JiveServlet/previewBody/71630-102-1-303180/CAM8200-U%20U...

RIoT: Hardware | RIoTBoard - Revolutionizing the Internet of Things http://riotboard.org/hardware

gst-launch example: Connecting Cameras to the RIoTboard - YouTube

Labels (5)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
bozhidar1
Contributor II

Hi Yuri,