cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Debug methods - IMX8QXP

jnj
Contributor III

Hi All,

I am currently working on IMX8QXP-MEK, and I have some queries regarding the debugging methods. I am a newbie to this platform. From the NXP documents, I came to know that there are mainly two methods to debug i.MX8. One is UART, and the second one is JTAG.

When the EVK is connected to the PC via USB, there are 4 UART ports visible: /dev/ttyUSB0, /dev/ttyUSB1, /dev/ttyUSB2, and /dev/ttyUSB3. Cortex A35 prints [Linux] can be seen over /dev/ttyUSB0, and M4 Cortex prints can be seen over /dev/ttyUSB2.

I am a little bit confused about which UART (among FTDIA, FTD_IB, FTDIC, FTDID ) is connected to Cortex A35 and Cortex M4 debugging.UART Connection diagram  of EVK is shown below.an JTAG be used for debugging both M4 and A35? Or can M4 only be debugged using JTAG? Kindly help me to resolve my doubts.

jnj_0-1707485150669.png

Thanks in advance !

0 Kudos
32 Replies

jnj
Contributor III

Hi @Chavira ,

Sorry I didn't get it.I created flash.bin using mkimage tool after renaming hello_world.bin as m4_image.bin and copying into the above mentioned folder.

0 Kudos

Chavira
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi @jnj!

Do you use the command ""make SOC=iMX8QX flash_linux_m4" or the command "make SOC=iMX8QX flash"?

if  you use the command "make SOC=iMX8QX flash" the build don´t include the m4 binary.

0 Kudos

jnj
Contributor III

Hi @Chavira ,

I have used make SOC=iMX8QX flash_linux_m4" .But I am having the confusion in the file name interpretation while using uuu command. Could you please help me to understand the file name interpretation

0 Kudos

Chavira
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi @jnj!

You should use the command "uuu -b emmc flash.bin" to update your boot loader in  your board.

0 Kudos

jnj
Contributor III

Hi @Chavira ,