Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Building Android for i.MX6

Jump to solution
schmittalexandr
Contributor I

Hi everybody,

Sorry for mi English, I'm a french student and I'm not very good for write in English ... :smileysilly:

I'm trying to Cross compile Android on MCIMX6DL-SDP and I don't want to flood my computer with all branches of Android repository.

So, my question is : Is it necessary to make a repo sync command for acquire all branches of Android git ?

In the User guide documentation there are two parts which are discussing about this mistake. In effect, in the lollipop 5.1.1 doc package, The part 3.1 in Android_User's_guide.pdf explain which is possible to take Android sources in the first paragraph (page 2) and it's possible to make a Freescal git to take source of Android in the second (page 3). This is a little bit trouble to understand this part for me ... I have to execute this 2 parts or can I choose just one of this 2 solutions ?

And if this 2 parts are nedded, are there an alternative to make a repo sync for just take Android lollipop branch ?

Thank you so much !

Labels (2)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
gary_bisson
Senior Contributor III

Yes you can do that although creating your own kernel might require to build some modules that must be located in system.img.

Also, the kernel is concatenated with the ramdisk into a boot.img, you can have a look at the following link to learn how to put those pieces apart and then back together:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=915808

Please mark this thread marked as resolved since the building issue has been addressed.

Regards,

Gary

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
gary_bisson
Senior Contributor III

Hi,