Best way to speed up compile/build times.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best way to speed up compile/build times.

dsmithfvc
Contributor I

I've taken on the roll as a Devops Engineer for the first time working with Android and the imx6.  Currently we run Jenkins and have builds for things like MFG-Tool, MATS, new dev changes.  Our Git repository is 5Gig and I'm told 300 million lines of code.   I'm just getting started trying to dig in and speed up compile times.  Our builds take a very longtime.  Can someone recommend where a beginner at Android should focus in this area?  Does it make sense to compile everything for a MFG tool or because of small code changes checked into Git?  Is there a best path to getting incremental builds, such as, Gradle or Jenkins incremental builds?  Sorry if this is too basic. I've only been digging a few hours so, I'm still kind of lost.  Just hoping someone may have insight from learned experiences and can point me in a direction to faster build times.

Labels (3)
0 Kudos
3 Replies

patrickwood
Contributor II

Only 5GB?  You must have the android sources installed yet.  They're a good 40GB or so.

I've been building android from the sources for a couple of years now.  My experience has been that you need the biggest, fastest server you can get your hands on with fast SSD or a SATA 3 RAID array.  Android build time (from scratch) on a 2.8GHz Core i7 with 6GB of RAM and SATA 3 rotating hard drive runs around 45 mins.  Build time on a 2GHz Core i7 with 16GB of RAM and a SATA 3 SSD drive runs around 30 minutes.