cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Memory Protection Unit (MPU) - getting started

Xbot
Contributor II
hi,

this is my first time using MPU module. we're also using xgate code.
1. my first concern is regarding the descriptors - how do i assign descriptors for xgate code, s12code, s12 ram, xgate ram...? should both xgate and s12code be in a single descriptor as well as their RAM?

2. how do i configure the start address (ex. s12code) and end address?

3. should the EEPROM be covered?

4. is there going to a separate descriptor for the PAGED and UNPAGED memory region?

and lastly.

5. how do i monitor an access violation error from xgate or cpu?

a flow algorithm or any info is very much welcome.

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
3 Replies

Xbot
Contributor II
hi,
thanx for the reply. i have another question tho:

i am using a timer-based OS and this should probably use dynamic descriptor.

-how often do i dynamically change my descriptors? say, i want 2 descriptors to my data region and stack in a sheduled task.

-how do i do the latter? :smileyhappy:

thanks,

Message Edited by Xbot on 2008-04-14 09:46 AM
0 Kudos

Steve
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Change the descriptors when needed. Before each task is run you have to adjust the descriptors to suit. This would normally be done in the kernel. Remember that the kernel may need different descriptors too - depending on how you go into and out of the kernel you may need to include a descriptor to allow this to happen.
In an OS- based system you probably want to consider using the CPU User State so that tasks cannot disturb the configuration of the system. In User State the CPU has additional limitations that can help prevent accidental writing to the CCR and invalid use of the low power modes.
0 Kudos

Steve
NXP Employee
NXP Employee