cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Ethernet interface for S12XDP512 processor

adrianS
Contributor I

Hi,

I want to add an Ethernet interface to the S12XDP512 processor.

I know that NE64 already has an Ethernet interface, but I have this S12XDP512 processor, I need to add the Ethernet interface to that processor as a university project (if it is possible to do that).

I have a ZK-S12-A Starter Kit (from SofTec) for Freescale HCS12(X) Family as development board.

I also want to say that I'm new to this kind of processor.

While researching I found these chips: ENC28J60 (has SPI port), CS8900A from Crystal LAN, LAN91C111 from SMSC to be the most appropriate. If you can recommend me one of these or other chips or have any suggestion that might help me please leave me a message.

Anyhow, my questions is:

1 What chip is suitable to use with my processor?

2 On which port is the simplest to connect to?  

3 What implementation of the TCP/IP Stack I should chose (I suppose that TCP/IP Stack should be implemented on the Ethernet chip that I will use)?

Thank you all for any help you may provide,

Adrian.

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
6 Replies

allawtterb
Contributor IV

adrianS wrote:

What implementation of the TCP/IP Stack I should chose (I suppose that TCP/IP Stack should be implemented on the Ethernet chip that I will use)?

These chips only provide the PHY and MAC interface, if you wish to use TCP/IP the stack for this will have to be on your S12X. 
0 Kudos

adrianS
Contributor I

allawtterb wrote:

These chips only provide the PHY and MAC interface, if you wish to use TCP/IP the stack for this will have to be on your S12X.

Thank you allawtterb for your reply.

That is ok for me to have the implementation of the TCP/IP stack on my S12X, and I was hopping to be so.

Adrian.

0 Kudos

JimDon
Senior Contributor III
This is what I would do.
The complete boards for those chips are in the 30-40USD range.