Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

eTPU2 CRANK and CAM function problem

Jump to solution
Nivek
Contributor I

Hello all,

I'll state my problem on top and describe the setup below.

To start with I should say that I am new to eTPU/eTPU2 usage. I do have fairly extensive experience with TPU/TPU3. I have written several fairly complex TPU3 functions so have reasonably good idea how the channel hardware works.

On a xPC56xxMB EVAL board with the xPC 564AADPT324S mini-module (MPC5644A, 324 pin), I am unable to make the CRANK (etpu set2) function work. It acts as if it just does not see the input signal. I have tried literally over 100 different configs, channel and engine setup, to no avail. All other functions work normally.

Codewarrior 10.4 default 5644 project with no operating system. Main program runs fine with eMIOS200, eQADC, eSCI, Flexcan modules all working.

Using the eTPU Graphical Configuration Tool (gct) for eTPU config and init.

All pads properly set in SIU.

ToothGen function works. Verified by oscilloscope. ToothGen crank jumpered to CRANK (channel 0) on the dev board. ToothGen cam jumpered to CAM on dev board.

PWM function on ch 30 works. Verified by scope.

To check and make sure that ch 0 actually could be configured as an input, assigned the FPM function to ch 0 and jumpered the cam signal to it. Worked and returns the correct frequency.

NOTE: FPM would not work until I turned off angle mode. Probably normal, I just don't know.

Have read, thoroughly, every AN, I won't list them here, there are too many. Even watched the youtube video.

Studied the eTPU section of  MPC5644ARM. Studied ETPURM and ETPURMAD.

Copied the gct config from AN3769SW for engine and function setup, modifying the TCR1 prescaler to get as close to the demo TCR1 freq as possible.