DSP function in the Kinetis K1x series / MCX A series

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DSP function in the Kinetis K1x series / MCX A series

joehmin91
Contributor II

Hi, I'm a Hardware engineer, and i'm studying on Kinetis K1x series and MCX A series to apply on my new boards.
Got some questions on DSP functions of these Microcontrollers.

1. It says "DSP" in the block diagrm of Arm Cortex-M4 through recent architectures, just wanna know what this "DSP" really means.
I know there are just simple, basic instructions of DSP / DSP extension instruction set (which I know as a additional fuction that we can apply to a chip that has no DSP core in it) / and
DSP-function-blocks such as MAC or SIMD, etc.

Wonder what kind of  DSP function this "DSP" in the block diagram really represents.

(I couldn't find any mention on DSP function in the K10DX or K12DX series Datasheet, but only

"DSP" word on the block diagram )

2. Same questions on MCX A series which has Cortex-M33 in it.
The datasheet says "No DSP extension instruction set" on the first line, so does it mean MCX A have Nothing related to DSP function at all? or just simple instructions only as default?

4. At last, DSP extension instruction set is just some kind of "additional instructions" on the Microcontroller which has no DSP core, as I know so far.
Is that right? and DSP blocks such as MAC/SIMD have lower performance that DSP extension instruction set and DSP core?

It's kinda hard to fully understand what kind of DSP functions those chips have / if those chips have DSP functions at all , by just reading out Datasheets.

Thanks for reading the whole, long query.

Best regards.

Labels (3)
6 Replies

xiangjun_rong
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi,

Q1)It says "DSP" in the block diagrm of Arm Cortex-M4 through recent architectures, just wanna know what this "DSP" really means.