cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to LPC

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by enggricha on Wed Aug 27 00:43:02 MST 2014
Hi All,

I am new to the LPC family, and the ARM micro controllers. I have many years of experience with PIC microcontrollers and now am looking to get started with ARM. I have gone through some start off information about the LPC family and have decided on the LPC1100 family of controllers. I am looking for suggestions for some start off evaluation boards and tools suitable for a first time user.
0 Kudos
18 Replies

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by enggricha on Mon Sep 22 11:43:08 MST 2014
Got my development setup going and decided to write a blog on for my students on why I recommend LPC for ARM based projects. If you people have time have a look and let me know if I have missed something vital there.
0 Kudos

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by enggricha on Thu Sep 04 01:54:01 MST 2014
Even this links seems wrong... thanks for the rest of the details. BTW if you were using a 35USD programmer....you could as well have gotten the 37USD 11U37 Xpresso Kit, since that can as well work as a programmer.
0 Kudos

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by Pacman on Thu Aug 28 12:04:03 MST 2014
When I solder the chip, I always position the chip using a strip of Kapton tape (any width between 3mm and 5mm should be fine).
I usually use a strip that is around 4-5 inches long, pushing it gently over the chip, then moving the chip onto the PCB by holding the tape only.
When I have the chip approximately where I want it, I fasten one end of the tape. I make any corrections needed by moving the other end. If necessary, I move the first end, and repeat until I have a perfect alignment.