cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CMSIS on LPCXpresso v3.5.0 [Build 206]

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by amptektech on Thu Oct 21 08:34:06 MST 2010
Hi All,

I am a newbie to LPCXpresso, in fact a newbie to embedded programming.  I am trying to create a new skeleton project with the CMSIS option.  However, I keep getting "Dependent project CMSISv1p30_LPC11xx not found" error.  I tried copying the CMSISv1p30_LPC11xx folder from the bundled example to my new workspace, but still getting the same error.  Please help.  Thank you so much.
0 Kudos
17 Replies

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by Rob65 on Wed Nov 28 00:23:32 MST 2012

Quote: southsystem
It [U]is[/U] pretty much unuseable, and I'm looking for a way to get 'hello world' out of an LPC1768 with serial download and no debug. How hard can that be?

I think we are streching the term "embedded computing" here.
Most embedded systems do not have a serial console, they just communicate with the user by LEDs and keypad or in more advanced systems by LCD screen with a touch interface.

In many of those systems the choice of the micro controller is such that it is just big enough to be used for the given application; all those extra peripherals that we do not use cost power, I/O pins and expensive board space that we may not have. (why else would we still have an lpc1114 next to the 1343 or 1769).

So IMHO it just makes so much more sense to have a JTAG debugger that is also used as a console instead of a serial port. We use this JTAG interface for downloading, debugging and as a printf console during development.

Older boards I have use a serial channel for downloading (that takes eons for a larger application) which was also used as serial console.Not being able to do proper debugging on those systems means that debugging took a lot of time.