When is ENDPTCOMPLETE set?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

When is ENDPTCOMPLETE set?

rex_lam
Contributor IV

I am new to ARM development, and have been looking into an odd behavior in a legacy product which uses LPC1837. The USB0 ISR processes ENDPTCOMPLETE but sometimes it is not set at the end of a USB transaction (or there was no interrupt), e.g. SetConfiguration. In the ISR, USB0 interrupt is disabled like this:

NVIC_DisableIRQ(USB0_IRQn);

Then before leaving the ISR, it is reenabled:
NVIC_EnableIRQ(USB0_IRQn);

I took USB traces and found no pattern to explain why ENDPTCOMPLETE is sometimes not set. As far as I know, this has only happened during IN transactions. Moving the USB device to a different USB port, or adding an extension USB cable, or adding a hub in between the host and the device could make the problem go away.

Could ENDPTCOMPLETE be affected by the disabling of the IRQ? What is the expected behavior of when ENDPTCOMPLETE is set? Is ENDPTCOMPLETE set for each USB transaction or USB transfer? Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Rex

Labels (1)
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
3 Replies

jeremyzhou
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi Rex Lam,
Thank you for your interest in NXP Semiconductor products and for the opportunity to serve you.
1) Could ENDPTCOMPLETE be affected by the disabling of the IRQ?
-- No.
2) What is the expected behavior of when ENDPTCOMPLETE is set?
-- Please refer to the section 23.6.22 USB Endpoint Complete register in the UM10430.

I was wondering if you can share a compile-able demo and introduce the testing procedure, then I can replicate the phenomenon on my site and it can help me figure it out.
Have a great day,
TIC

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Note: If this post answers your question, please click the Correct Answer button. Thank you!