cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LPCXpresso4337 UART ISP Not working

emantec
Contributor I

Hi,

I'm fairly new to this so I apologise in advance if I've missed something obvious. 

I have a LPCXpresso4337 (18S37) dev board and I'm attempting to get it to boot into ISP via UART with no luck. 

The manual states 

Boot mode  P2_9   P2_8   P1_2   P1_1   Description
USART0     LOW    LOW   LOW   LOW   Boot from device connected to USART0 using pins P2_0 and
P2_1. For flash parts, enter UART ISP mode.

As far as I can tell this just requires JP3 to be bridged and all pins should then be low and it'll boot into ISP UART, however the BOOT0_LED indicator just blinks as boot failed. Attempting to synchronise through UART does nothing. 

The board is brand new and hasn't been programmed for anything but some LPCXpresso IDE examples so BOOT_SRC bits should be 0.

Any help would be appreciated. 

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
12 Replies

emantec
Contributor I

Bump

0 Kudos

xiangjun_rong
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi, Tim,

pls check the PIO2_7 pin logic when you power up, when the PIO2_7 pin is High, the chip will boot from internal flash and run the application code automatically. I think it is the case you have now.

When the PIO2_7 pin is LOW, the chip will enter boot mode and wait the Uart0 signal when all the P2_9, P2_8, P1_2, and P1_1 are LOW.

Pls refer to the part I copied from 5.3 Functional description in UM10503.

"

For flash-based parts, the part boots from internal flash by default (boot pin P2_7 is
HIGH). If the boot pin is sampled LOW on reset, the boot source is determined by the
setting of the OTP or the states of pins P2_9, P2_8, P1_2, and P1_1. For details of the
boot process for flash-based parts, see Figure 15.

"

Hope it can help you

BR

XiangJun Rong

0 Kudos

emantec
Contributor I

P2_7 is connected to the ISP switch (SW2)? No?

Holding ISP whilst board is reset still results in a failed boot.