LPCOPEN usbd_rom_cdc example RTS/DTR

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LPCOPEN usbd_rom_cdc example RTS/DTR

philipchampagne
Contributor I

I am using the usbd_rom_cdc example to and the LPC11U68 to create a device that gets accessed via a COM port on the computer. I am using the Xpresso-LPC11U68 board and MCUXpresso IDE v10.2.0.

Here are the issues I am having:

1. I am a novice at writing code for embedded USB devices.

2. I altered the usbd_rom_cdc example and now have it so DTR will trigger the VCOM_SetCtrlLineState function but RTS does not trigger it.

3. I need a way to see when the COM port has opened and closed so that the program will only transmit something out when the COM port is open.

Here are my questions:

1. Does anyone have a good reference where I could read up on developing embbedded USB devices using the CDC class?

2. Does anyone know how I can configure the usbd_rom_cdc example so that when RTS is toggled it triggers the VCOM_SetCtrlLineState function?

3. Does anyone know how I can read when the COM port has opened or closed in the usbd_rom_cdc? 

Labels (6)
0 Kudos
5 Replies

philipchampagne
Contributor I

TIC,

Here is how I test DTR and RTS:

Using the example I added the following line in the vcom_init function
cdc_param.SetCtrlLineState = VCOM_SetCtrlLineState;

I then added the following function:

/* Called when DTR is toggled. */
static ErrorCode_t VCOM_SetCtrlLineState(USBD_HANDLE_T hCDC, uint16_t state)
{
// state = 0 when DTR = CLR and RTS = CLR
// State = 1 when DTR = CLR and RTS = SET
// state = 2 when DTR = SET and RTS = CLR
// state = 3 when DTR = SET and RTS = SET
uint8_t intDTRState = 0;
intDTRState = state & 1;

Board_LED_Set(BLUE_LED, intDTRState);
return LPC_OK;
}