cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Kwikstik audioscope demo question

Jump to solution
cesarrabak
Contributor III

I'm studying the Kinetis KwikStik board (K40) and specially the audioscope demo.

After an analysis of the producer consumer role of PE_ISR(DMA_ADC_DoneInterrupt) (in Events.c) and ShowData() (in ProcessorExpert.c), I think the implementation in this demo has a race condition where the display function reads the data pointed to be written by the ADC thus turning useless the intended double buffer mechanism:

This is the code for the interrupt service routine:

PE_ISR(DMA_ADC_DoneInterrupt)

{

/* Write your interrupt code here ... */

// Clear all DMA interrupt flags

DMA_CINT = 0x40;

// switch bufstart to other part of buffer

BufStart = ADC_BUFFER_SIZE - BufStart;

// reset destination address

DMA_TCD0_DADDR = (uint32_t)&(MeasuredValues[BufStart]);

// toggle pin

GPIO1_ToggleFieldBits(GPIOPtr, TST,1);

// toggle flag

Measured = TRUE;

}

In the routine above the setting of BufStart switches the start of the buffer to be written by the ADC and toggles the flag "Measured" to true which is tested in the main of ProcessorExpert.c:

The pertaining snippet of the code is the following:

if (Measured) {

cntr++;

// display only time after time

if (cntr > 10) {

// display data

ShowData();             

cntr = 0;

}

// reset flag

Measured = FALSE;

}

The call to ShowData() is only made if the flag "Measured" is true, this procedure has the following code:

for (i=0; i<37; i++) {   

val = MeasuredValues[BufStart+i];

sum += val;

// substract last average

val = val - LastAvg;

if (val < -150) {

pos = 0;   

} else if (val < -90) {

pos = 1;   

} else if (val < -60) {

pos = 2;   

} else if (val < -30) {

pos = 3;   

} else if (val < 30) {

pos = 4;   

} else if (val < 60) {

pos = 5;   

} else if (val < 90) {

pos = 6;   

} else {

pos = 7;   

}