cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Difficulty with TRK-KEA 128 CAN Communication

Jump to solution
tylertrigg
Contributor II

I am a novice with microcontrollers so I assume this is a fairly simple issue. I want to be able to send messages back and forth between two TRK-KEA128 microcontrollers. I'm using the msCAN driver and the example project has a receive_DataFrame function and a send_DataFrame function. So I have one set to simply send a frame and the other set to receive the frame and then turn on a light signifying it was received. However, the receiver gets stuck in a loop where it looks for a flag that buffer_status[0] == NEWDATA, which never triggers.

I don't know if there is something extra I must put in the code to send data over or if I simply made a mistake in the way the microcontrollers were wired to each other. In addition, both MCUs use a different computer to receive power. Can anyone give me some guidance of where I might have gone wrong?

0 Kudos
1 Solution
Robin_Shen
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi Tyler,

That code is used to output Bus clock on PTH2. I just want to ensure the frequency of Bus clock is correctly configured by Clk_Init function.
I am not sure if you have test the "Demo_ReceiveTransmit" case.
You can refer the images attached to achieve communicate with each other MCUs.

Please download "ReceiveTransmit" project to one board first.

ReceiveTransmit.png

Then download "Transmit then ReceiveTransmit" project to another board.

Transmit then ReceiveTransmit.png
I also attached these two project here, so you can test them directly.

If you have CAN bus tool, you may see the CAN data like below.

CAN bus tool.png

Best Regards,

Robin

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
Robin_Shen
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi Tyler,

I test the MSCAN_KEA128 project on my Rev D TRK-KEA128 boards.
The "Demo_Receive_DataFrame" code can run into MSCAN_Rx_IRQHandler.